When You Don’t Understand the Bible

When I was a young Christian, I thought that it was enough to read the Bible, memorize Bible verses, pray, and go to church. I know I’m not committing major sins and my current life is enough. It was neither a bountiful life but I am contented spiritually.

Not until Christ met me. Not until He showed me what a mess my life really is. He gave me a new perspective to see what’s missing in my life. That I was actually in a spiritual plateau and though He’s not condemning me, it was rather my loss. I was not experiencing the best He could offer me. I’ve forgotten His big promises in the Bible and it showed me that I really don’t understand the Bible and I was all head knowledge. Proverbs 18:2 “A fool takes no pleasure in understanding, but only in expressing his opinion.” His words weren’t alive in my life and there was no fire. Yes, I could probably explain what some Bible verses meant, I knew most if not all the major characters in the Bible but I wasn’t using the Bible to my full advantage.

You see it’s easier to fall into temptation if the word of God has gone into oblivion because you did not meditate upon it. Which means, you just read it on the surface. What a waste of time reading the Bible from Genesis to Revelation! Many have attempted to read and interpret the Bible but failed. Only when the Holy Spirit is present will you be able to see the depth of God’s word in your life. It’s when the word of God becomes alive, sharper than any two edge sword, piercing to the division of soul and spirit, of joints and marrow, and discerning the thoughts and intentions of the heart. (Hebrews 4:12).

I love how a little girl in my small group said it, that it’s just another fictional book without the indwelling of the Holy Spirit.

Not every person has the Holy Spirit. Only those who have accepted Jesus Christ as their savior have been baptized and empowered by the Holy Spirit. It requires a relationship with the Trinity to fully understand the Bible and claim its truth and promises.

1 Corinthians 2:7-13 (ESV)
But we impart a secret and hidden wisdom of God, which God decreed before the ages for our glory. None of the rulers of this age understood this, for if they had, they would not have crucified the Lord of glory. But, as it is written,
“What no eye has seen, nor ear heard,    nor the heart of man imagined, what God has prepared for those who love him”—
10 these things God has revealed to us through the Spirit. For the Spirit searches everything, even the depths of God. 11 For who knows a person’s thoughts except the spirit of that person, which is in him? So also no one comprehends the thoughts of God except the Spirit of God.12 Now we have received not the spirit of the world, but the Spirit who is from God, that we might understand the things freely given us by God. 13 And we impart this in words not taught by human wisdom but taught by the Spirit, interpreting spiritual truths to those who are spiritual.

 

Only when I fully surrendered my life to Christ that the Holy Spirit revealed His persona to me, that I finally understood my purpose and my calling. His words become honey to my mouth and it was the book I desire above all else.  There were new truths and revelations and my life was never the same. I was in for an adventure. Sure it wasn’t a perfect life but I was rather met with a lot more struggles to test my faith. And yet the word of God is my reminder that He, the Word who became flesh is alive and has already won the victory for me. Not so I would just sit back and relax, let Him do the works but so that I could serve Him in his kingdom by sharing the same truth and gospel to His people. Now that I can understand, even just a portion, not all, I could help those who want to seek Him.

One may see the Bible as just another work of fiction but I’ve tasted and seen that the Lord is good (Psalm 34:8) so I would just trust and savor every word of it.

Leave a Reply

